Cerermony - Paris Film Critics Awards 2023 - Discover the 2023 nominations !

By Mulder, 23 january 2023

A panel of 80 Paris-based film and culture critics and journalists (the Paris Film Critics Academy) has selected the best feature films (released in theaters or on platforms during 2022) and talents from French and international cinema that will be in competition for the 2nd edition of the Paris Film Critics Awards. Created on the initiative of Sam Bobino (co-president of the La Baule Film Festival and general delegate of the Semaine du Cinéma Positif in Cannes), the 2nd Paris Film Critics Awards will be presented at a ceremony to be held on February 5 at the cinema Le Silencio des Prés in Paris. Among the novelties this year, the creation of two new awards, the one for the best set design and the one for the best TV series. 

Best Film 
As bestas - Rodrigo Sorogoyen
Armaggedon Time - James Gray
Avatar: The Voice of Water - James Cameron
Decision to Leave - Park Chan-wook
Eo - Jerzy Skolimowski
The Night of the 12th - Dominik Moll
Pacifiction : Torment on the Islands - Albert Serra
Saint Omer - Alice Diop
Best Director
Albert Serra - Pacifiction: Torment on the Islands
Dominik Moll - The Night of the 12th
Gaspard Noé - Vortex
Jean-Jacques Annaud - Our Lady is Burning
James Cameron - Avatar: The Voice of Water
Jerzy Skolimowski - Eo
Paul Thomas Anderson - Licorice Pizza
Valéria Bruni Tedeschi - Les Amandiers
Best Actress 
Adèle Exarchopoulos - Nothing to Give a Fuck About
Ana de Armas - Blonde
Guslagie Malanda - Saint Omer
Laure Calamy - À plein temps
Noémie Merlant - The Innocent
Virginie Efira - The Children of Others
Virginie Efira - Seeing Paris Again
Best Actor 
Austin Butler - Elvis
Bastien Bouillon - Night of the 12th
Benoît Magimel - Pacifiction: Torment on the Islands
Colin Farrell - The Banshees of Inisherin
Denis Ménochet - As bestas
Gérard Depardieu - Maigret
Louis Garrel - The Innocent
Best Supporting Actress 
Angela Bassett - Black Panthers: Wakanda Forever
Anouk Grinberg - Night of the 12th
Carey Mulligan - She Said
Dominique Blanc - The Origin of Evil
Isabelle Adjani - Masquerade
Jamie Lee Curtis - Everything Everywhere All at Once
Sara Giraudeau - The Sixth Child
Best Supporting Actor 
Anthony Hopkins - Armageddon Time
Bradley Cooper - Licorice Pizza
Bouli Lanners - Night of the 12th
Finnegan Oldfield - Cut!
Louis Garrel - Les Amandiers
Roschdy Zem - The Innocent
Tom Hanks - Elvis
Best Female Revelation
Alana Haim - Licorice Pizza
Guslagie Malanda - Saint Omer
Kayije Kagame - Saint Omer
Mallory Wanecque - The Worst
Marion Barbeau - En corps
Nadia Tereszkiewicz - Les Amandiers
Rebecca Marder - A Good Girl
Best Male Revelation 
Adam Bessa - Harka
Alyosha Reinert - Little Nature
Cooper Hoffman - Licorice Pizza
Dimitri Doré - Bruno Reidal, confession of a murderer
Eden Dambrine - Close
Paul Kircher - The Schoolboy
Stefan Crepon - Peter von Kant 
Best original script 
Armaggedon Time - James Gray
As Bestas - Rodrigo Sorogoyen & Isabel Pena
The Cairo Conspiracy - Tarik Saleh
The Banshees of Inisherin - Martin McDonagh
Licorize Pizza - Paul Thomas Anderson
The Innocent - Louis Garrel & Tanguy Viel
Saint Omer - Amrita David, Alice Diop & Marie NDiaye
Best Adaptation 
Farewell Mr. Haffmann - Fred Cavayé & Sarah Kaminsky
Colors of Fire - Pierre Lemaitre
Investigation of a State Scandal - Thierry de Peretti & Jeanne Aptekman
La Nuit Du 12 - Dominik Moll & Gilles Marchand
The Sixth Child - Léopold Legrand & Catherine Paillé
Ouistreham - Emmanuel Carrère & Hélène Devynck
White Noise - Noah Baumbach
Best Photography
Armageddon Time - Darius Khondji 
Avatar: The Way of the Water - Russell Carpenter
Elvis - Mandy Walker
Licorice Pizza - Paul Thomas Anderson
Pacifiction: Torment on the Islands - Artur Tort
Nightmare Alley - Dan Laustsen
Vortex - Benoit Debie
Best Original Score 
Full Time - Irene Drésel
Eo - Pawel Mykietyn
And I Love to Fury - Benjamin Biolay
La Nuit du 12 - Olivier Marguerit
Nope - Michael Abels
Pinocchio - Alexandre Desplat
The Banshees of Inisherin - Carter Burwell
Best editing 
Athena - Benjamin Weill
Avatar: The Way of the Water - David Brenner, James Cameron, John Refoua, Stephen E. Rivkin & Ian
Bullet Train - Elisabet Ronaldsdottir
Decision to Leave - Kim Sang-bum
Elvis - Matt Villa and Jonathan Redmond
Everything Everywhere All at Once - Paul Rogers
Top Gun : Maverick - Eddie Hamilton
Best Set Design
Avatar: The Way of the Water - Dylan Cole & Ben Procter
Elvis - Catherine Martin & Karen Murphy
Licorice Pizza - Florencia Martin
Nightmare Alley - Tamara Deverell
Our Lady Burns - Jean Rabasse
Nope - Ruth De Jong
Pacifiction : Torment on the Islands - Sebastian Vogler
Best 1st film
Bruno Reidal, confession of a murderer - Vincent Le Port
Falcon Lake - Charlotte Le Bon
Joyland - Saim Sadiq
The Worst - Lise Akora & Romane Gueret
The sixth child - Léopold Legrand
Rodeo - Lola Quivoron
Best animated film 
Red Alert - Domee Shi
Ernest and Celestine - Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar & Benjamin Renner
Le Petit Nicolas : What are we waiting for to be happy ? - Amandine Fredon & Benjamin Massoubre
The Pharaoh, the Wild Man and the Princess - Michel Ocelot
The secrets of my father - Véra Belmont
My Afghan Family - Michaela Pavlatova
Pinocchio - Guillermo Del Toro
Best documentary 
Let's go children - Thierry Demaizière & Alban Teurlai
Ennio - Giuseppe Tornatore
And I love to fury - André Bonzel
The super 8 years - Annie Ernaux & David Ernaux-Briot 
Michaël Cimino, an American mirage - Jean-Baptiste Thoret  
Patrick Dewaere, my hero - Alexandre Moix
The Beatles: Get Back - The Rooftop Concert - Peter Jackson
Best Series 
House of the Dragon
Irma Vep
The World of Tomorrow
Black Butterflies
The White Lotus
Tokyo Vice

(source : press release)