Cerermony - Fourth Annual Academy Museum Gala to Honor Paul Mescal, Rita Moreno, and Quentin Tarantino

By Mulder, 10 june 2024

The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures has announced the details of its highly anticipated Fourth Annual Academy Museum Gala, set to take place on October 19, 2024. This year's gala, presented by Rolex, will celebrate the museum's third anniversary and honor three distinguished figures in the world of cinema: Paul Mescal, Rita Moreno, and Quentin Tarantino. The gala is a significant fundraising event, with proceeds supporting the museum’s exhibitions, screenings, and various educational and community programs. Paul Mescal will be presented with the Vantage Award, an accolade that acknowledges an emerging artist or scholar who is instrumental in challenging and contextualizing dominant cinema narratives. Rita Moreno, an Academy Award-winning actress, singer, and dancer, will receive the Icon Award, celebrating her career's profound global cultural impact. Quentin Tarantino, a two-time Academy Award-winning and six-time Academy Award-nominated writer and director, will be honored with the Luminary Award, which recognizes an artist whose unique contributions have expanded the creative possibilities of cinema.

The gala will be co-chaired by a distinguished group of individuals, including Dr. Eric Esrailian, Salma Hayek Pinault, Nicole Kidman, Eva Longoria, and Tyler Perry, each bringing their unique expertise and passion for the arts to the event. These co-chairs, along with the support of Rolex as the official watch partner and founding supporter of the Academy Museum, ensure a night of celebration and significant fundraising success. Incoming Academy Museum Director and President, Amy Homma, expressed her enthusiasm for the event, emphasizing the gala's role in celebrating the transformative power of cinema and honoring artists whose work continues to inspire future generations. The evening’s host committee comprises an impressive list of notable names from the entertainment industry, including Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Amy Adams & Darren Le Gallo, Jon Bernthal, Orlando Bloom, Sterling K. Brown, and many others, all contributing to the event's prestige and significance.

The Academy Museum Gala not only honors extraordinary achievements in film but also raises vital funds to support the museum's mission. This mission includes advancing the understanding, celebration, and preservation of cinema through inclusive and accessible exhibitions, screenings, and educational programs. The museum, designed by Pritzker Prize-winning architect Renzo Piano, is the largest institution in the United States dedicated to the arts, sciences, and artists of moviemaking. Its campus features the restored historic Saban Building and a striking spherical addition, offering 50,000 square feet of exhibition space, two state-of-the-art theaters, and the Shirley Temple Education Studio. The museum also provides beautiful public spaces such as The Walt Disney Company Piazza and the Sidney Poitier Grand Lobby, housing the Spielberg Family Gallery, Academy Museum Store, and Fanny’s restaurant and café. Open six days a week, the museum continues to be a beacon for cinema lovers and the general public alike, fostering a deeper appreciation for the art and history of filmmaking.

Photos : Credit Art Streiber

(Photos : press release)