Cerermony - BAFTA 2024 : Oppenheimer Triumphs at the 77th BAFTA Film Awards

By Mulder, 18 february 2024

In a star-studded event at London's Royal Festival Hall, the 77th British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAs) unfolded with glitz, glamour, and a celebration of cinematic excellence. Hosted by the charismatic David Tennant for the first time, the ceremony was broadcast live on BBC One and iPlayer in the UK and on BritBox International in several countries.

Christopher Nolan's epic Oppenheimer emerged as the big winner of the night, clinching an impressive 13 nominations and securing victories in multiple key categories. The Universal film took home the coveted awards for Outstanding Film, Director, Adapted Screenplay, Actor, and Supporting Actor and Actress. Nolan's masterful storytelling and the stellar performances of the cast propelled Oppenheimer to the forefront, making it the film to beat in most areas.

Yorgos Lanthimos' Poor Things from Searchlight put up a strong fight, garnering 11 nominations and recognition in categories such as Outstanding Film, Outstanding British Film, Adapted Screenplay, and Lead Actress for Emma Stone. Despite the fierce competition, Poor Things stood tall as one of the night's highlights.

Martin Scorsese's Killers Of The Flower Moon secured nine nominations and made a mark with wins in categories like Outstanding Film, Supporting Actor for Robert DeNiro, and cinematography for Rodrigo Prieto. Jonathan Glazer's Cannes drama The Zone of Interest also earned nine nominations, marking a career-best for the British filmmaker.

Other notable films that made waves at the BAFTAs include Cannes Palme d'Or laureate Anatomy of a Fall, Alexander Payne's The Holdovers, and Bradley Cooper's Netflix entry Maestro, each receiving seven nominations. Andrew Haigh's fantasy drama All of Us Strangers landed six nods, while Greta Gerwig's Barbie and Emerald Fennell's Saltburn received five apiece.

As the BAFTAs unfold as a precursor to the Oscars, these wins provide a glimpse into the potential frontrunners for the upcoming Academy Awards on March 10. Stay tuned for more updates as the film industry gears up for another momentous awards season.

The complete winner list : 

Best Film
Oppenheimer – Christopher Nolan, Charles Roven and Emma Thomas

Best Director
Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Cillian Murphy – Oppenheimer as J. Robert Oppenheimer

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Emma Stone – Poor Things as Bella Baxter

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Robert Downey Jr. – Oppenheimer as Lewis Strauss

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Da'Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers as Mary Lamb

Best Original Screenplay
Anatomy of a Fall – Justine Triet and Arthur Harari

Best Adapted Screenplay
American Fiction – Cord Jefferson

Best Animated Film
The Boy and the Heron – Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki

Best Documentary
20 Days in Mariupol – Mstyslav Chernov and Raney Aronson-Rath

Best Film Not in the English Language
The Zone of Interest – Jonathan Glazer

Best Casting
The Holdovers – Susan Shopmaker

Best Cinematography
Oppenheimer – Hoyte van Hoytema

Best Costume Design
Poor Things – Holly Waddington

Best Editing
Oppenheimer – Jennifer Lame

Best Make Up & Hair
Poor Things – Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier and Josh Weston

Best Original Score
Oppenheimer – Ludwig Göransson

Best Production Design
Poor Things – Shona Heath, James Price and Zsuzsa Mihalek

Best Sound
The Zone of Interest – Johnnie Burn and Tarn Willers

Best Special Visual Effects
Poor Things – Simon Hughes

Outstanding British Film
The Zone of Interest – Jonathan Glazer, James Wilson and Ewa PuszczyƄska

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
Earth Mama – Savanah Leaf (Writer, Director, Producer), Shirley O'Connor (Producer) and Medb Riordan (Producer)

Best British Short Animation
Crab Day – Ross Stringer, Bartosz Stanislawek and Aleksandra Sykulak

Best British Short Film
Jellyfish and Lobster – Yasmin Afifi and Elizabeth Rufai

EE Rising Star Award
Phoebe Dynevor
Ayo Edebiri
Jacob Elordi
Sophie Wilde

Photos : Copyright Getty Images for BAFTA

(Source : press release)